Timmy Hansen and Killian Dall’olmo win inaugural DiRT Rally 2.0 World RX Esports Series Titles

2019 FIA World Rallycross Champion Timmy Hansen and DiRT Rally 2.0 World Series Champion Killian Dall’olmo continued their title-winning form as the World RX Esports Series concluded at South Africa’s Killarney International Raceway in DiRT Rally 2.0.





On Sunday (July 12) a 30-strong field real-world drivers, top DiRT Rally 2.0 players and special guests came together for a virtual race meeting, hosted by Codemasters, Motorsport Network, Gamebyte, Cooper Tyres and the FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy.

Following the success of two Invitational events in April and early May, a four event series was formed that sees competitors racing throughout May, June and July. Shane van Gisbergen won the series opener at Yas Marina and Tom Blomqvist won Round 2 at Hell. Jonathan Pailler won the Höjes event of Round 3.

The South Africa grid featured several drivers who competed in previous events, and joining them were even more real-world drivers such as South African GT drivers Jordan Pepper and David Perel. Commentary was provided by World RX talent Andrew Coley and Neil Cole, who also feature as voiceover talent within DiRT Rally 2.0.



The format of the World RX Esports Series events mirrored that of a real-world FIA World Rallycross Championship event, with 4 Qualifying sessions and the top drivers progressing to Semi Finals, and an overall Final crowning the winner.

There was also a secondary set of races featuring 10 of the fastest sim racers in DiRT Rally 2.0, including the current esports World Series Champion Killian Dall’olmo, who tested a real-world RX2 car earlier this year.

Rallycross is known for being a short, high intensity form of motorsport, where powerful cars race on tight circuits featuring tarmac, gravel and jumps. Killarney International Raceway was the scene of the real-world finale in 2019, and has been faithfully recreated in DiRT Rally 2.0, providing an experience near indistinguishable from the real thing.



The Qualifiers passed by without major incident as the more experienced drivers broke away in their respective Heats, leaving behind the few drivers who had incidents. There was championship intrigue however as series leader Timmy Hansen received a penalty in Q3 following an incident with Shane van Gisbergen.

At the end of Q4 10 drivers had progressed to the Semi Finals, including both Hansen brothers from World RX, both South African guest drivers, GT driver Tom Blomqvist and more. The top 5 from the Semi Finals would then meet in the Final.

The sim racers would have their own bracket to see who was strongest of those 10.



In the Pro Driver category Timmy Hansen had an incident-filled race, and finished in the lower half. His championship rival Tom Blomqvist could not overhaul the 5 point deficit in a single race however, as Shane van Gisbergen took the race victory.

In the Sim Racer category Killian Dall’olmo dominated from start to finish, cementing his reputation as DiRT Rally 2.0‘s finest rallycross player.


Final Standings (Pro Drivers):

  • 1st: Shane van Gisbergen (New Zealand)
  • 2nd: Tom Blomqvist (UK)
  • 3rd: David Perel (South Africa)
  • 4th: Timmy Hansen (Sweden)
  • 5th: Jonathan Pailler (France)


Final Standings (Sim Racers):

  • 1st: Killian Dall’olmo (France)
  • 2nd: Tommi Hallman (Finland)
  • 3rd: Jonne Ollikainen (Finland)
  • 4th: Jarod Pesch (Australia)
  • 5th: Johan Lundqvist (Sweden)


World RX Esports Series Standings:

  • 1st / 97 points / Timmy Hansen
  • 2nd / 93 points / Tom Blomqvist
  • 3rd / 82 points / Shane van Gisbergen
  • 4th / 72 points / Kevin Hansen
  • 5th / 56 points / Henrik Krogstad


DiRT Rally 2.0 is the official game of the FIA World Rallycross Championship, featuring the cars, tracks and drivers from the 2018 and 2019 seasons alongside historic content. The Game of the Year Edition is available now.



Related News